Collins a finalist for NL Manager of the Year; Cespedes wins Gold Glove

Terry Collins signs autographs (Photo credit: Paul Hadsall)

Terry Collins signs autographs (Photo credit: Paul Hadsall)

New York Mets manager Terry Collins is one of three finalists for the National League Manager of the Year Award. Cubs manager Joe Maddon and Cardinals manager Mike Matheny are also finalists. The award winner will be announced November 17th.

While some fans and media members are critical of Collins for his in-game strategy, I’ve really come to appreciate how good he is at the “people skills” parts of his job. Many of us were ready to give up on the 2015 Mets when they could barely score a run a game for weeks at a time. Collins didn’t give up on them, and he didn’t let them give up on themselves. Unlike other managers in the NL East, Collins has earned the respect of his team. And while I’d like it if he figured out how to use his bullpen more efficiently before next season starts, I’m happy Collins is finally getting the recognition he has earned.

Baseball also announced its Gold Glove Awards tonight.

Despite being traded out of the American League in July, Yoenis Cespedes won an AL Gold Glove Award this year.

Mets right fielder Curtis Granderson was a finalist for a National League Gold Glove Award, but was beaten out by Jason Heyward.

About Paul

NY Mets enthusiast, toy collector, amateur gardener, Christian. I like to take pictures & write things.

Posted on November 10, 2015, in New York Mets and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

What do you think?

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: